

Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamente Europäisches Parlament Europa Parlament Eupomaïkó Koivoβoùlo European Parliament Parlement européen Parlaimint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Ewropew Europes Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento Europeu Parlamentul European Európsky parlament Evropski parlament Europan Parlamentti Europarlamentet

Brussels, 20. November 2019

Honourable President Erdoğan,

Turgut Öker, German citizen and honorary chairman of the Alevite Confederation in Europe, is refused to leave Turkey. Mr Öker was arrested exactly one month after entering Turkey and was temporarily detained on remand. He has now been released, but is not allowed to leave Turkey. Turgut Öker is accused of harmless political statements in social networks in 2014 and 2015.

Turgut Öker was a member of the HDP in the Turkish parliament during the last legislative period and we, as Members of the European Parliament, are very concerned that a Person who thinks and acts politically different to the AKP is once again being restricted in his fundamental freedoms and civil rights.

We notice with concern that, particularly since the Operation "Peace Spring", 120 journalists have been detained and several mayors have been deposed. Hundreds of opposition members, government critics and journalists are facing prosecution.

We stand shoulder to shoulder with our colleagues, including former colleagues, who are affected by repression. We the undersigned call on the Turkish Government to let Mr Öker leave the country immediately and to cease repression of opposition members.

Respectfully,

Demirel Özlem Alev (GUE/NGL), Vice-Chair Turkey Delegation, Arvanitis Konstantinos (GUE/NGL), Bloss Michael (Greens/EFA) Buschmann Martin (GUE/NGL), Chaibi Leila (GUE/NGL), Chowns Ellie (Greens/EFA), Dimitros Papadimoulis (GUE/NGL), Ernst Cornelia (GUE/NGL), Freund Daniel (Greens/EFA), Fourlas Loucas (EPP), Gregorová Markéta (Greens/EFA), Horwood Martin (Renew), Incir Evin, (S&D), Köster Dietmar (S&D), Kuhnke Alice (Greens/EFA), Langensiepen Katrin (Greens/EFA), Mavrides Costas (S&D), Michels Martina (GUE/NGL), Omarjee Younous (GUE/NGL), Piri Kati (S&D), Pelletier Anne-Sophie (GUE/NGL), Pineda Manu (GUE/NGL), Rego Abed Sira (GUE/NGL), Reintke Terry (Greens/EFA), Riba i Giner Diana (Greens/EFA), Satouri Mounir (Greens/EFA), Schieder Andreas, (S&D), Schirdewan Martin (GUE/NGL), Scholz Helmut (GUE/NGL), Urban Crespo Miguel (GUE/NGL), Villanueva Ruiz Idoia (GUE/NGL), von Cramon-Taubadel Viola (Greens/EFA), Vollath Bettina (S&D), Ward Julie (S&D)